Environment and Global Issues Web Links

Fossil fuels

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Conservation Foundation www.acf.org.au
Australian Institute of Energy www.aie.org.au
Beyond Zero Emissions www.bze.org.au
Clean Energy Council www.cleanenergycouncil.org.au
Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) www.ceda.com.au
CSIRO www.csiro.au
Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency www.climatechange.gov.au
Energy Matters www.energymatters.com.au
Geoscience Australia www.ga.gov.au/energy.html
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
International Energy Agency www.iea.org
WWF-Australia www.wwf.org.au

Threatened species

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Conservation Foundation www.acf.org.au
Australian Marine Conservation Society www.amcs.org.au
Australian Museum Online http://australianmuseum.net.au/biodiversity
Australian Wildlife Conservancy www.australianwildlife.org
Convention on Biological Diversity www.cbd.int/
Friends of the Earth www.foe.org.au
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) www.iucn.org
The Wilderness Society www.wilderness.org.au
WWF-Australia www.wwf.org.au

Water resources and management

ABC News (water page) www.abc.net.au/news/topic/water
Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) www.agriculture.gov.au/abares
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission www.accc.gov.au/regulated-infrastructure/water
Australian Water Association www.awa.asn.au
Australia’s Water www.environment.gov.au/water/
Bureau of Meteorology (Water Information page) www.bom.gov.au/water/
Caring for our Country www.nrm.gov.au
Department of the Environment www.environment.gov.au
Geoscience Australia (Groundwater page) www.ga.gov.au/groundwater.html
Murray-Darling Basin Authority www.mdba.gov.au
National Water Market www.nationalwatermarket.gov.au
Water Research Australia www.waterra.com.au

The climate change crisis

Australian Conservation Foundation www.acf.org.au
Bureau of Meteorology Australia – Climate change and variability www.bom.gov.au/climate/change
Carbon Neutral www.carbonneutral.com.au
Climate Action Network Australia www.cana.net.au
Climate Change Authority http://climatechangeauthority.gov.au
Climate Change in Australia www.climatechangeinaustralia.gov.au
The Climate Institute www.climateinstitute.org.au
Climate Spectator www.businessspectator.com.au/climate
Climate Scientists Australia http://climatescientistsaustralia.org.au
CSIRO – Climate change and adaptation www.csiro.au/en/Research/Environment/Atmosphere-and-climate
Department of Agriculture – A change in climate www.agriculture.gov.au/ag-farm-food/climatechange
Department of the Environment – Climate change www.environment.gov.au/climate-change
Friends of the Earth Australia www.foe.org.au
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change www.ipcc.ch
Marine Climate Change www.oceanclimatechange.org.au

Ocean conservation and management

Australian Conservation Foundation www.acf.org.au
Australian Coral Reef Society www.australiancoralreefsociety.org
Australian Fisheries Management Authority www.afma.gov.au
Australian Institute of Marine Sciences www.aims.gov.au
Australian Marine Conservation Society www.marineconservation.org.au
Australia’s Sustainable Seafood Guide www.sustainableseafood.org.au
CSIRO – Oceans and Coasts www.csiro.au/en/Research/Environment/Oceans-and-coasts
Department of Agriculture and Water Resources – Fisheries www.agriculture.gov.au/fisheries
Department of the Environment – Marine www.environment.gov.au/marine
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority www.gbrmpa.gov.au
Humane Society International Australia www.hsi.org.au
IUCN – Marine and Polar www.iucn.org/about/work/programmes/marine
Marine Education Society of Australasia www.mesa.edu.au
Reef and Rainforest Research Centre http://rrrc.org.au
Sea Shepherd Conservation Society www.seashepherd.org
WWF Australia www.wwf.org.au

Waste recycling and energy saving

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Conservation Foundation www.acf.org.au
Australian Council of Recycling www.acor.org.au
Australian Institute of Energy www.aie.org.au
Beyond Zero Emissions www.bze.org.au
Clean Energy Council www.cleanenergycouncil.org.au
Clean Up Australia www.cleanup.org.au
Department of Industry, Innovation and Science www.industry.gov.au
Energy Matters www.energymatters.com.au
Friends of the Earth Australia www.foe.org.au
Geoscience Australia www.ga.gov.au/energy.html
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
International Energy Agency www.iea.org
Planet Ark http://planetark.org
Recycling Near You http://recyclingnearyou.com.au
Sustainability Victoria www.sustainability.vic.gov.au
Waste Authority WA www.wasteauthority.wa.gov.au
WWF-Australia www.wwf.org.au
Your Energy Savings http://yourenergysavings.gov.au

The global refugee crisis

Amnesty International Australia www.amnesty.org.au/refugees
Asylum Seeker Resource Centre www.asrc.org.au
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
Australia for UNHCR www.unrefugees.org.au
Department of Immigration and Border Protection www.border.gov.au
Refugee Council of Australia www.refugeecouncil.org.au
Roads to Refuge www.roads-to-refuge.com.au
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) www.unhcr.ch

Bushfire safety

Australian Academy of Science www.science.org.au
Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (schools education site) https://emschools.org.au
Bureau of Meteorology www.bom.gov.au
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) www.csiro.au
Geoscience Australia www.ga.gov.au
The Climate Council www.climatecouncil.org.au
State and Territory fire agencies
ACT Emergency Services Agency https://esa.act.gov.au/cbr-be-emergency-ready/bushfires
Country Fire Authority (Victoria) www.cfa.vic.gov.au
Department of Fire and Emergency Services (WA) www.dfes.wa.gov.au
New South Wales Rural Fire Service www.rfs.nsw.gov.au
Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services www.pfes.nt.gov.au
Rural Fire Service Queensland www.ruralfire.qld.gov.au
South Australia Country Fire Service www.cfs.sa.gov.au
Tasmania Fire Service www.fire.tas.gov.au

Nuclear arms control

Arms Control Association www.armscontrol.org
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists www.thebulletin.org
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade www.dfat.gov.au
Federation of American Scientists https://fas.org
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) www.icanw.org
International Committee of the Red Cross www.icrc.org/en/war-and-law/weapons/nuclear-weapons
International Partnership for Nuclear Disarmament Verification www.ipndv.org
International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War www.ippnw.org
Medical Association for the Prevention of War www.mapw.org.au
Nuclear Age Peace Foundation www.wagingpeace.org
Nuclear Threat Initiative www.nti.org
Reaching Critical Will www.reachingcriticalwill.org
Swedish Physicians against Nuclear Weapons http://laromkarnvapen.se/en
United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA) www.un.org/disarmament

Saving the Great Barrier Reef

ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies www.coralcoe.org.au
Australian Institute of Marine Sciences www.aims.gov.au
Australian Marine Conservation Society www.marineconservation.org.au
CSIRO – Oceans and Coasts www.csiro.au/en/Research/Environment/Oceans-and-coasts
Department of Agriculture and Water Resources – Fisheries www.agriculture.gov.au/fisheries
Department of the Environment and Energy – Marine www.environment.gov.au/marine
Fight for Our Reef www.fightforourreef.org.au
Great Barrier Reef Foundation www.barrierreef.org
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority www.gbrmpa.gov.au
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
Queensland Government (Coasts, waterways and marine) www.qld.gov.au/environment/coasts-waterways/reef
WWF-Australia wwf.org.au

Plastic pollution

Australian Geographic www.australiangeographic.com.au
Australian Marine Conservation Society www.marineconservation.org.au
Boomerang Alliance www.boomerangalliance.org.au
Clean Up Australia www.cleanup.org.au
Department of the Environment and Energy www.environment.gov.au
Earth Day www.earthday.org
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
Planet Ark http://planetark.org
Plastic Free July http://www.plasticfreejuly.org
Plastic Oceans Foundation www.plasticoceans.org
Plastic Pollution Coalition www.plasticpollutioncoalition.org
Recycling Near You http://recyclingnearyou.com.au
Sea Life Trust www.sealifetrust.org.au
Sustainability Victoria www.sustainability.vic.gov.au
Tangaroa Blue – marine debris initiative www.tangaroablue.org
World Environment Day (5 June) http://worldenvironmentday.global

Stay up to date with the latest news & releases

Sign Up Now