Health and Wellbeing Web Links

Physical activity and fitness

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Australian Sports Commission www.ausport.gov.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Communities, Sport and Recreation Tasmania www.dpac.tas.gov.au/divisions/csrt
Department of Health and Ageing (Physical Activity page) www.health.gov.au/internet/main/publishing.nsf/content/health-pubhlth-strateg-phys-act-guidelines
Department of National Parks, Recreation, Sport and Racing, Queensland www.nprsr.qld.gov.au
Department of Sport and Recreation, Northern Territory www.sportandrecreation.nt.gov.au
Department of Sport and Recreation, Western Australia www.dsr.wa.gov.au
National Heart Foundation of Australia (Active Living page) www.heartfoundation.org.au/active-living
Nutrition Australia www.nutritionaustralia.org
Office of Communities, Sport and Recreation, NSW www.dsr.nsw.gov.au
Office for Recreation, Sport and Racing, South Australia https://www.orsr.sa.gov.au/
Sport and Recreation, Victoria https://sport.vic.gov.au/
Victorian Health Promotion Foundation – VicHealth www.vichealth.vic.gov.au
World Health Organization (Physical Activity page) www.who.int/topics/physical_activity/en/

Understanding anxiety

Anxiety Disorders Association of Victoria Inc www.adavic.org.au
Anxiety Recovery Centre Victoria www.arcvic.com.au
Anxiety Treatment Australia www.anxietyaustralia.com.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
beyondblue – the national depression initiative www.beyondblue.org.au
Black Dog Institute www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
e-hub Self-help Programs for Mental Health and Wellbeing www.ehub.anu.edu.au
headspace www.headspace.org.au
itsallright.org www.itsallright.org
Mental Health Association NSW www.mentalhealth.asn.au
Mental Health Online www.mentalhealthonline.org.au
myDr www.mydr.com.au/mental-health/anxiety
Orygen Youth Health http://oyh.org.au
reachout.com http://au.reachout.com
SANE Australia www.sane.org
THIS WAY UP http://thiswayup.org.au
Youthbeyondblue www.youthbeyondblue.com

Positive body image

About Face www.about-face.org
ANRED – Anorexia Nervosa and Related Eating Disorders www.anred.com
ANZAED – Australian and New Zealand Academy for Eating Disorders www.anzaed.org.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Child and Youth Health www.cyh.com.au
Mirror Mirror – Eating Disorders www.mirror-mirror.org
Eating Disorders Anonymous www.eatingdisordersanonymous.org
Eating Disorders Online www.eatingdisordersonline.com
Eating Disorders Queensland https://eatingdisordersqueensland.org.au/
Eating Disorders Victoria www.eatingdisorders.org.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelp.com.au
National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders www.anad.org
National Eating Disorders Collaboration www.nedc.com.au
Somazone www.somazone.com.au
The Butterfly Foundation http://thebutterflyfoundation.org.au

Suicide prevention

Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
beyondblue www.beyondblue.org.au
Black Dog Institute www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
Conversations Matter www.conversationsmatter.com.au
headspace www.headspace.org.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelp.com.au
Lifeline www.lifeline.org.au
Living is for Everyone www.livingisforeveryone.com.au
MensLine Australia www.mensline.org.au
Mindframe Media www.mindframe-media.info
ReachOut.com http://au.reachout.com
SANE Australia www.sane.org
Suicide Call Back Service www.suicidecallbackservice.org.au
Suicide Prevention Australia http://suicidepreventionaust.org
SuicideLine www.suicideline.org.au
Youth Beyond Blue www.youthbeyondblue.com

Obesity and overweight

8700.com.au (NSW Government) www.8700.com.au
Australia’s Healthy Weight Week www.healthyweightweek.com.au
Australian Food and Grocery Council www.afgc.org.au
Australian Guide to Healthy Eating www.eatforhealth.gov.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Australian Medical Association www.ama.com.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Dietitians Association of Australia www.daa.asn.au
eatforhealth.gov.au www.eatforhealth.gov.au
Foodwatch www.foodwatch.com.au
Food Standards Australia New Zealand www.foodstandards.gov.au
Nutrition Australia www.nutritionaustralia.org
Obesity Australia www.obesityaustralia.org
Obesity Policy Coalition www.opc.org.au

Discussing sexual health

AIDS Action Council www.aidsaction.org.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Australian Research Centre in Sex, Health and Society www.latrobe.edu.au/arcshs
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Child and Youth Health www.cyh.com
Family Planning Queensland t/as True Relationships & Reproductive Health https://www.true.org.au/
Family Planning Tasmania www.fpt.asn.au
Family Planning Victoria www.fpv.org.au
Health Direct Australia www.healthdirect.gov.au
Love: the good, the bad and the ugly http://lovegoodbadugly.com
MensLine Australia www.mensline.org.au
myDr www.mydr.com.au
Raising Children Network http://raisingchildren.net.au
ReachOut.com http://au.reachout.com
Sexual Health Plus (NSW Health) www.health.nsw.gov.au/sexualhealth/pages/default.aspx
Women’s Health Queensland www.womhealth.org.au
Women’s Health Victoria www.whv.org.au

Dealing with depression

Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
beyondblue www.beyondblue.org.au
Black Dog Institute www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
BluePages http://bluepages.anu.edu.au
dNet http://depressionet.org.au
e-hub Mental Health www.ehub.anu.edu.au
headspace www.headspace.org.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelp.com.au
Lifeline www.lifeline.org.au
Mental Health Association NSW – WayAhead https://wayahead.org.au/
Mental Health Australia http://mhaustralia.org
Mental Illness Fellowship of Australia Inc www.mifa.org.au
Mindhealthconnect – Depression www.healthdirect.gov.au/depression
myDr www.mydr.com.au
Orygen Youth Health http://oyh.org.au
ReachOut.com http://au.reachout.com
SANE Australia www.sane.org
Youthbeyondblue www.youthbeyondblue.com/

Food safety

ACT Health – Food Business Regulation www.health.act.gov.au
Department of Health www.health.gov.au
Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania – food safety www.dhhs.tas.gov.au
Department of Health and Human Services, Victoria – food safety www.health.vic.gov.au
Department of Health, Northern Territory – food safety https://nt.gov.au/industry/hospitality/accommodation-and-food-businesses/food-safety-and-regulations
Food Safety Centre www.foodsafetycentre.com.au
Food Safety Information Council www.foodsafety.asn.au
Food Standards Australia New Zealand www.foodstandards.gov.au
NSW Food Authority www.foodauthority.nsw.gov.au
Queensland Health – food safety www.health.qld.gov.au/foodsafety
SA Health – food safety www.sahealth.sa.gov.au
Safe Food Queensland www.safefood.qld.gov.au

Organic and genetically modified food

Agricultural Biotechnology Council of Australia www.abca.com.au
Australian Certified Organic http://aco.net.au
Bayer Australia https://www.crop.bayer.com.au/
CSIRO www.csiro.au
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment www.agriculture.gov.au
Eco Voice www.ecovoice.com.au
Food Magazine www.foodmag.com.au
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) www.foodstandards.gov.au
Gene Ethics www.geneethics.org
Greenpeace Australia Pacific www.greenpeace.org.au
IFOAM Organics International www.ifoam.bio
Madge Australia Inc. www.madge.org.au
National Association for Sustainable Agriculture, Australia (NASAA) www.nasaa.com.au
Office of the Gene Technology Regulator www.ogtr.gov.au
Organic Federation of Australia www.ofa.org.au
Seeds of Deception www.seedsofdeception.com
Truefood Network www.truefood.org.au

Cancer prevention

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Cancer Australia https://canceraustralia.gov.au
Cancer Council ACT www.actcancer.org
Cancer Council Australia www.cancer.org.au
Cancer Council Northern Territory http://nt.cancer.org.au
Cancer Council NSW www.cancercouncil.com.au
Cancer Council QLD www.cancerqld.org.au
Cancer Council South Australia www.cancersa.org.au
Cancer Council Tasmania www.cancertas.org.au
Cancer Council Victoria www.cancervic.org.au
Cancer Council Western Australia www.cancerwa.asn.au
Cancer Institute NSW www.cancerinstitute.org.au
Cancer Prevention and Support Association www.cancerprevention.org.au
Cancer Screening (Department of Health) www.cancerscreening.gov.au
Department of Health (Australian Government) www.health.gov.au
World Health Organization (Cancer page) www.who.int/cancer/

Complementary and alternative medicine

Australasian Integrative Medicine Association www.aima.net.au
Australian Medical Association www.ama.com.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
CHOICE www.choice.com.au
Complementary Medicines Australia www.cmaustralia.org.au
Consumer Healthcare Products Australia https://www.chpaustralia.com.au/Home
Department of Health www.health.gov.au
Friends of Science in Medicine www.scienceinmedicine.org.au
myDr www.mydr.com.au
National Institute of Complementary Medicine http://nicm.edu.au
NHMRC – Complementary medicines https://www.nhmrc.gov.au/health-advice/all-topics/complementary-medicines
NPS MedicineWise www.nps.au
The Conversation www.theconversation.com/au
Therapeutic Goods Administration www.tga.gov.au

End of life issues

Advance Care Planning Australia http://advancecareplanning.org.au
Australian Centre for Grief and Bereavement www.grief.org.au
Australian Centre for Health Research www.achr.org.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Bereavement Care Centre www.bereavementcare.com.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Beyond Blue www.beyondblue.org.au
Grieflink www.grieflink.asn.au
Health Direct Australia – End of life health https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/end-of-life-health
Lifeline www.lifeline.org.au
My Aged Care www.myagedcare.gov.au
National Association for Loss and Grief www.nalag.org.au
Palliative Care Australia http://palliativecare.org.au

Sugar consumption

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Food and Grocery Council www.afgc.org.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
CHOICE www.choice.com.au
Diabetes Australia www.diabetesaustralia.com.au
Foodwatch www.foodwatch.com.au
LiveLighter www.livelighter.com.au
Nutrition Australia www.nutritionaustralia.org
Obesity Policy Coalition www.opc.org.au
Parent’s Voice www.parentsvoice.org.au
Rethink Sugary Drink www.rethinksugarydrink.org.au
Sugar Research Advisory Service www.srasanz.org
World Health Organization (Cancer page) www.who.int/cancer/

Fighting infectious diseases

Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases www.asid.net.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (US) www.cdc.gov
Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA) www.health.gov.au/cdna
Department of Health (Australian Government) www.health.gov.au
health direct – Infectious diseaseswww.healthdirect.gov.au/infectious-diseases
Immunisation Coalition www.immunisationcoalition.org.au
Medical Journal of Australia www.mja.com.au
myDr www.mydr.com.au
National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance www.ncirs.edu.au
Women’s and Children’s Health Network www.cyh.com
World Health Organization www.who.int/en/

Youth mental health

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
beyondblue – the national depression initiative www.beyondblue.org.au
Black Dog Institute www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
headspace http://headspace.org.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelp.com.au
Lifeline Australia www.lifeline.org.au
Mindhealthconnect www.healthdirect.gov.au/mental-health-and-wellbeing
Orygen Youth Health http://oyh.org.au
Raising Children Network http://raisingchildren.net.au
ReachOut Australia www.reachout.com.au
SANE Australia www.sane.org
Suicide Prevention Australia www.suicidepreventionaust.org
Young Minds Matter http://youngmindsmatter.org.au
Youth Beyond Blue www.youthbeyondblue.com

Physical inactivity

10,000 Steps (CQUniversity Australia) www.10000steps.org.au
Active Healthy Kids Australia www.activehealthykidsaustralia.com.au
Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au
Australian Sports Commission www.sportaus.gov.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Department of Health www.health.gov.au
myDr www.mydr.com.au
National Heart Foundation of Australia www.heartfoundation.org.au
Obesity Australia www.obesityaustralia.org
World Health Organization (Physical activity page) www.who.int/ncds/prevention/physical-activity/en/

Stress and young people

Australian Psychological Society www.psychology.org.au
Be You www.beyou.edu.au
Better Health Channel www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au
Beyond Blue www.beyondblue.org.au
Black Dog Institute www.blackdoginstitute.org.au
Head to Health www.headtohealth.gov.au
Headspace, National Youth Mental Health Foundation www.headspace.org.au
Heads Up www.headsup.org.au
HealthDirect www.healthdirect.gov.au
Kids Helpline www.kidshelpline.com.au
Lifeline www.lifeline.org.au
Orygen, National Centre of Excellence in Youth Mental Health www.orygen.org.au
Parenting and Child Health www.cyh.com
ParentLink www.parentlink.act.gov.au
Raising Children Network www.raisingchildren.net.au
ReachOut Australia www.reachout.com.au
Student Wellbeing Hub www.studentwellbeinghub.edu.au
This Way Up www.thiswayup.org.au
Way Ahead (Mental Health Association NSW) www.wayahead.org.au
Youth BeyondBlue www.youthbeyondblue.com

Stay up to date with the latest news & releases

Sign Up Now