Rights and Discrimination Web Links

Age discrimination

Aged and Community Services Australia www.agedcare.org.au
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au/our-work/age-discrimination
Council on the Ageing www.cota.org.au/australia
Department of Health and Ageing www.health.gov.au
Department of Veterans’ Affairs  www.dva.gov.au
National Ageing Research Institute www.nari.net.au
National Aged Care Alliance www.naca.asn.au
National Seniors Australia  www.nationalseniors.com.au
National Seniors Productive Ageing Centre www.productiveageing.com.au
Older Women’s Network www.own.org.au
Seniors (Australian Government portal)  www.seniors.gov.au
World Health Organisation (Ageing and Life Course page) www.who.int/ageing/en/

Gender discrimination and inequality

ACTU Worksite www.worksite.actu.org.au
Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Department of Social Services Office for Women www.dss
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
The Workplace Gender Equality Agency www.wgea.gov.au
Older Women’s Network www.own.org.au
Office for Women, ACT www.communityservices.act.gov.au
Office for Women, New South Wales www.women.nsw.gov.au
Office for Women, Queensland www.communities.qld.gov.au/communityservices/women
Office for Women, South Australia www.officeforwomen.sa.gov.au
United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women www.unwomen.org
Women Victoria https://www.vic.gov.au/gender-equality-and-womens-leadership
Women Tasmania http://register.dpac.tas.gov.au
Women’s Electoral Lobby www.wel.org.au
Working Women’s Centres www.wwc.org.au

Sexual orientation and gender identity

A Gender Agenda http://genderrights.org.au
ACON www.acon.org.au
Anti-Discrimination Board of NSW https://www.antidiscrimination.justice.nsw.gov.au/
Anti-Violence Project http://antiviolence.info
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au/our-work/sexual-orientation-sex-gender-identity
Free & Equal www.unfe.org
Gay & Lesbian Rights Lobby http://glrl.org.au
Gay & Lesbian Switchboard www.switchboard.org.au
Gender Spectrum www.genderspectrum.org
Intersex Human Rights Australia https://ihra.org.au/
Living Proud www.livingproud.org.au
National LGBTI Health Alliance www.lgbthealth.org.au
The Gender Centre www.gendercentre.org.au
Transgender Victoria http://transgendervictoria.com
Twenty10 incorporating GLCS NSW www.twenty10.org.au
Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission www.humanrightscommission.vic.gov.au
Victorian Pride Lobby http://vicpridelobby.org
Zoe Belle Gender Centre http://zbgc.com.au

Religious freedom and discrimination

ABC Religion and Ethics www.abc.net.au/religion
Adherents.com www.adherents.com
Anglican Church of Australia www.anglican.org.au
Atheist Foundation of Australia Inc www.atheistfoundation.org.au
Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Federation of Islamic Councils http://muslimsaustralia.com.au
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au/freedom-religion-and-belief
Catholic Church in Australia www.catholic.org.au
Centre for Independent Studies https://www.cis.org.au/research/culture-prosperity-civil-society/religion-and-civil-society/
Christian Research Association  www.cra.org.au
Compass – ABC TV www.abc.net.au/compass
Executive Council of Australian Jewry www.ecaj.org.au
Federation of Australian Buddhist Councils www.buddhistcouncil.org.au/fed/home
Freedom 4 Faith www.freedom4faith.org.au
Hindu Council of Australia www.hinducouncil.com.au
Jewish Australia Network www.jewishaustralia.com
National Council of Churches in Australia www.ncca.org.au
Rationalist Society of Australia www.rationalist.com.au
Religion Interfaith Network www.regionalinterfaith.org.au
Religious Tolerance www.religioustolerance.org
Right Now – Human Rights in Australia http://rightnow.org.au/topics/religion
Uniting Church in Australia https://www.uniting.org/home

Animal rights and welfare

Against Animal Cruelty Tasmania (AACT) www.aact.org.au
Animal Ethics www.animal-ethics.org
Animal Liberation ACT www.al-act.org
Animal Liberation NSW www.animal-lib.org.au
Animal Liberation Queensland http://alq.org.au
Animal Liberation South Australia www.animalliberation.org.au
Animal Liberation Victoria www.animal-liberation.org.au
Animal Rights Advocates Inc. http://animalrightsadvocates.org.au/
Animal Welfare League Australia www.awla.com.au
Animals Australia www.animalsaustralia.org
ANZCCART Australia www.adelaide.edu.au/ANZCCART
Australian Animal Protection Society www.aaps.org.au
Choose Cruelty Free www.choosecrueltyfree.org.au
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment www.agriculture.gov.au
Humane Society International www.hsi.org.au
PETA Asia-Pacific www.petaasiapacific.com
RSPCA Australia www.rspca.org.au
Sentient http://sentientorg.wix.com/sentient
Voiceless: the animal protection institute www.voiceless.org.au
World Animal Protection www.worldanimalprotection.org.au

The free speech debate

Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
Australian Law Reform Commission www.alrc.gov.au
Civil Liberties Australia www.cla.asn.au
FreedomWatch http://freedomwatch.ipa.org.au
Human Rights Law Centre www.hrlc.org.au
Institute of Public Affairs http://ipa.org.au
Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance www.meaa.org
On Line Opinion www.onlineopinion.com.au
Online Hate Prevention Institute http://ohpi.org.au
The Conversation http://theconversation.com/au

People with disability

Australian Centre for Disability Law www.disabilitylaw.org.au
Australian Federation of Disability Organisations www.afdo.org.au
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au/disability
Australian Network on Disability www.and.org.au
Carers Australia www.carersaustralia.org.au
Children and Young People with Disability Australia www.cyda.org.au
Disability Advocacy Network Australia www.dana.org.au
Every Australian Counts www.everyaustraliancounts.com.au
First Peoples Disability Network www.fpdn.org.au
Inclusion Australia www.ncid.org.au
National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) www.ndis.gov.au
National Disability Services www.nds.org.au
People with Disability Australia www.pwd.org.au
Services Australia https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/
United Nations www.un.org/development/desa/disabilities
Women With Disabilities Australia http://wwda.org.au

Human rights in Australia

ACT Human Rights Commission www.hrc.act.gov.au
Amnesty International Australia www.amnesty.org.au
Attorney-General’s Department www.ag.gov.au
Australian Human Rights Institute https://www.humanrights.unsw.edu.au/
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
Australian Lawyers Alliance www.lawyersalliance.com.au
Australian Lawyers for Human Rights www.alhr.org.au
Castan Centre for Human Rights Law www.monash.edu/law/research/centres/castancentre
Civil Liberties Australia www.cla.asn.au
Human Rights Council of Australia www.hrca.org.au
Human Rights Watch www.hrw.org
Law Council of Australia www.lawcouncil.asn.au
New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties www.nswccl.org.au
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights www.ohchr.org
Right Now www.rightnow.org.au
Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission www.humanrightscommission.vic.gov.au

Bullying and young people

Alannah and Madeline Foundation www.amf.org.au
Anti-bullying (NSW Dept of Education) https://antibullying.nsw.gov.au
Australian Institute of Family Studies https://aifs.gov.au
Bully Stoppers (Victorian Government) www.education.vic.gov.au/about/programs/bullystoppers/Pages/default.aspx
Bully Zero Australia Foundation http://bzaf.org.au
Bullying. No Way! www.bullyingnoway.gov.au
headspace www.headspace.org.au
Ken Rigby www.kenrigby.net
Kids Helpline www.kidshelpline.com.au
National Centre Against Bullying www.ncab.org.au
Office of the eSafety Commissioner www.esafety.gov.au
Raising Children Network www.raisingchildren.net.au
ReachOut Australia www.au.reachout.com
Student Wellbeing Hub https://studentwellbeinghub.edu.au
Think U Know (Australian Federal Police) www.thinkuknow.org.au
Youth Beyond Blue www.youthbeyondblue.com

Sexual harassment

Australian Bureau of Statistics www.abs.gov.au
Australian Human Rights Commission www.humanrights.gov.au
Male Champions of Change malechampionsofchange.com
Our Watch www.ourwatch.org.au
The Conversation www.theconversation.com/au
The Line www.theline.org.au
Violence Against Women. Let’s Stop it at the Start www.respect.gov.au
White Ribbon Australia www.whiteribbon.org.au

Stay up to date with the latest news & releases

Sign Up Now